God’s Backup Plan

Mariellen Gilpin (WCTS Aug 2016 (91:2)

My Friend Jean Marron-Beebe and I share many things, one of them being our enjoyment of a good metaphor, and another that our now-dead mothers were both narcissists.

Recently a friend at the gym was complaining to me about a client who routinely parked astraddle of two parking places behind the gym available free to customers. I couldn’t remember the name of another customer and simply described him as “the other guy who lived in a bubble.” My gym-friend  immediately recognized him as the fella who routinely walked into the cardio room with its TV monitors on one channel and summarily changed the channel for everyone—so he could follow the stock market  reports.

I was pleased my metaphor alone was sufficient to identify immediately the culprit and thought to myself, “I must be sure to tell Jean Marie about my great metaphor!”

And then she told me about her test whether the Tarot card lady was reading Spirit or merely reading Jean’s great need to hear that her mother was sorry….and then I remembered WCTS’s definition of Messages. Sometimes it takes three different people telling us the same thing before we pay attention. Two messengers down…there was a third in God’s backup plan…

Leave a comment